Thunderheads will merge with Airhogs for 2016

Thunderheads will merge with Airhogs for 2016

In a news release from the American Association of Independent Professional Baseball, Commissioner Miles Wolff released the league's 2016 schedule.

Clubs will play 100 regular-season games from May 19 to September 5.

Twelve teams will take part in the leagues eleventh season, and for the first time since 2011, no interleague games against clubs from the Can-Am League will take place.

The league formerly was made up of 13 teams, making the numbers uneven. So in order to fix the issue, the Grand Prairie AirHogs and Amarillo Thunderheads, separate league members, will operate as one entity in 2016. 

The team will play 25 home games at QuikTrip Park in Grand Prairie, Texas, and 25 at Potter County Memorial Stadium in Amarillo, Texas. All 11 other league members will return in their same markets.

Commissioner Wolff says, "With 13 clubs and no interleague play, a schedule with an odd number of teams became unbalanced and difficult." 

"We appreciate that Southern Independent Baseball, owner of the Amarillo and Grand Prairie clubs, agreed to the league's request to operate its two teams as one in 2016. We fully expect that both teams will return in 2017 as individual entities with a full schedule in their respective markets."