OK governor declares state of emergency in 12 counties

Amarillo, TX - The severe weather caused Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin to declare a state of emergency in 12 counties Sunday, including Ellis County, which is in our viewing area.

The governor's office released a statement saying the declaration is due to tornadoes, severe storms, straight line winds and flooding that all began Friday.

The order allows state agencies to make emergency purchases needed to expedite the delivery of resources to the counties.

This is also the first step toward possibly asking for federal assistance.

Counties included in the declaration are Alfalfa, Caddo, Canadian, Cleveland, Ellis, Harper, Jackson, Kiowa, Logan, Oklahoma, Woods and Woodward.

More counties can be added if conditions warrant.