Students Remembered at West Texas A&M University Student Memorial Service

Seven West Texas A&M University students who died in the last year were remembered Friday.

The WTAMU Student Government held the 23rd Annual Student Memorial Service at the JA Hill chapel on campus.

Students, faculty and staff, and family members gathered to remember those seven students.

"It's a sad thing, but at the same time you want to reflect on those students," said Amy Thompson, WTAMU Student Body President.

Every year at the service, WTAMU students are awarded scholarships in memory of those students honored at the memorial service.

"We are going to honor the lives and times of these students at WT," said Thompson.

This year, seven current WTAMU students were each given $350 scholarships,each in honor of one of the seven who died.

  • Victoria Arambula in memory of Jesse Holmes, a senior general business major from Holly, Colorodo, who died last July.
  • Seth Hoelscher in memory of Amy Yager, a sophomore general business major from Amarillo, who died last September.
  • Denise Manley in memory of Real Daigle, a graduate student in education from Amarillo, who died in January.
  • Robert Lanford in memory of Lee Cob, a sophomore management major from Amarillo, who died in December.
  • Brennan Roper in memory of Roman Maldonado, a senior sports and exercise sciences major from Childress, who died last May.
  • Lindsey Steele in memory of Fred Amerson, a graduate student in psychology from Amarillo, who died in December.
  • Desiree Moore in memory of Wesley Wood, a senior general studies major from Fritch, who died last June.

Because so many students died in the last year, the Student Government had to raise additional funds to keep from dipping into the initial principle.

"We were really lucky because WT students, faculty, and alumni stepped up and really helped," said Thompson.

WTAMU held it's first Student Memorial Service in 1986 and since then, the Student Government Memorial Fund has awarded more that 100 scholarships to WTAMU students.

Contributions may be made to the Student Memorial Scholarship Fund at WTAMU Box 60297, Canyon, Texas 79016-0001.

For more information, contact the Office of Student Government at (806) 651-2385 or log onto